NANPA - Nature Photography Forums

NANPA - Nature Photography Forums (http://www.nanpa.org/forums/index.php)
-   Open Discussion (http://www.nanpa.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Lightroom Catalog Table Structure (http://www.nanpa.org/forums/showthread.php?t=255)

plunkettphoto 05-30-2010 03:42 PM

Lightroom Catalog Table Structure

Some of you know that I am an old gray-beard programmer from a prior life. Well I decided to build an application for my own in-house use that reads information from a Lightroom Catalog. Doubt that it will ever be a commercially viable app but then you never know.

I need to read information from the LR catalog (actually, a copy of the catalog) which is actually a SQLite RDBMS. I can find all the information I am looking for in the various cryptic tables in the database. Problem is I can't figure out how to tie the rows in the various tables together for a particular image. Most tables contain fields for id_local and id_global but they don't match across tables.
I thought it would be obvious how the tables were structured by creating a catalog with only 3 images in it with very clear caption and title information in each. This is how I know that what I thought would be the primary keys (tied to a particular image) don't contain the same values.
Does anyone know how the tables are structured, or where they are documented or who I can contact for more information?
Thanks,
bill plunkett

rmklass 06-06-2010 03:03 PM

Lightroom Metadata

Are you looking for a way to read out the metadata of the images? I've had good success reading the metadata out with PHP using the GD Image Library resizing function. This doesn't take the library as the input, but rather strips the metadata from the actual files - maybe this would be an option? I use in my website's internal programming to resize images and load metadata into searchable MySQL tables used in the programming of the site.

Let me know if you need help in figuring this.

Ray