North American Nature Photography Association

Connecting The Nature Photography Community

 
Join NANPA!



  #1  
Old 09-18-2009, 10:24 PM
Lilly61342's Avatar
Lilly61342 Lilly61342 is offline
ForestWander
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3
Default Auto Bracketing

I just got a new RC1 for my SLR the other day.

The reason I got this is so that I can take multiple exposures without touching the body.

My goal is to take 3 or so exposures at different levels -1 0 +1 and blend them together.

In some of the locations I shoot I find that there are a lot of highs and lows and you cannot always hike back into these areas to get another shot.

I have never experimented with auto bracketing or this technique.

Have any of the NANPA members experimented with HDR (high dynamic range)and auto bracketing?

Or am I out in left field...

This is something that I am just now learning...

Thank you!
__________________
ForestWander Nature Photography
www.ForestWander.com

Extreme Nature Photography Adventure Gear
Store.ForestWander.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2009, 09:55 AM
dougotto's Avatar
dougotto dougotto is offline
NANPA Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carmichael, CA
Posts: 106
Default

What you're suggesting only gives you a 2 stop spread between exposures. Generally speaking that range of light can be coaxed out of a single frame without the need for HDR. I think that if you want to experiment with it you'll want to include more frames or expand your bracketing to get more stops.

Cheers
__________________
Doug Otto
[url=http://www.binaryemulsion.com]Binary Emulsion[/url]
[url=http://www.binaryemulsion.com/wordpress]My Photo Blog[/url]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 01:04 AM
crbattreall crbattreall is offline
NANPA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 12
Default Is it really needed?

I agree with Doug. If you are shooting in RAW and are paying attention to your histogram, then I don't think you need to bracket by a stop or two. I quit bracketing the day I switched to digital.

I don't do any HDR stuff, but most of my friends usually manual bracket the exposures and they are usually much more than +2 stops.

Carl
www.photographalaska.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2013, 09:21 AM
robbixby robbixby is offline
NANPA Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 1
Default HDR bracketing

When I shoot for an HDR image, I autobracket -2, 0, +2. The goal is to take as many shots as needed to cover the dynamic range of the subject. +/-2 generally does really well. And if you're shooting RAW, that can be expanded another stop both directions, if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2013, 01:35 PM
ericbowles ericbowles is offline
NANPA Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 57
Default

The newer cameras are reducing the need for HDR and bracketing if you shoot at low ISO levels. I've found with the Nikon D800 and D600, the dynamic range is much wider than earlier cameras. DxOMark rates them at 13-14 EV at lowest ISO but just 10 EV at ISO 2400.

I agree with the other comments - bracketing at 2 stop intervals makes a lot more sense than single stops.
__________________
Eric Bowles
Bowles Images
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
auto bracket, exposures, high dynamic range

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Enabled for iPhone,Android,Nokia
Enabled for iPhone,Android,Nokia
Click for App

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
 

Web site design © Relevant Arts