NANPA members are not only some of the most accomplished nature photographers in the world but also photographers who are deeply committed to supporting the nature photography community within North America. NANPA is pleased to honor members’ work through its awards program. NANPA awards fit two broad categories: recognition and service.

The nomination cycle for the next Outstanding Young Nature Photographer Award and NANPA Fellow Award is now open. Read more about these awards below and nominate inspiring nature photographers by February 14, 2022.

Recognition Awards

NANPA’s recognition awards are presented in honor of one’s accomplishments, stature, or length of service to nature photography. Awards in this category include:

Service Awards

Our service awards recognize members who have served NANPA in an extraordinary way—a volunteer on a committee or a frequent newsletter contributor, for example. NANPA service awards include:

Click on any award in the lists above to learn more about the award criteria and its past recipients.

Any NANPA member can nominate a deserving candidate during the award’s designated nomination period. Login to the Members Area and click on “Nominate Members for Awards.” Members will also be notified by email when each cycle opens for nominations.

Current Nomination Cycle

May 15, 2021June 15, 2021Lifetime Achievement
Outstanding Photographer of the Year
Sept. 1, 2021Sept. 30, 2021Environmental Impact
Fine Art in Nature Photography
Jan. 14, 2022Feb. 14, 2022Outstanding Young Nature Photographer
NANPA Fellow
May 1, 2022May 30, 2022NANPA Mission
Outstanding Service
Kinne Legacy

How NANPA Awards Are Decided

  • The NANPA Awards Committee accepts nominations for all NANPA awards.
  • The Awards Committee evaluates candidates and makes selection recommendations to the NANPA Board of Directors.
  • NANPA’s Board of Directors (with possible assistance from the Advisory Council) approves recipients.