Environmental Impact Award

a NANPA Recognition Award presented in honor of one’s accomplishments, stature or length of service to nature photography

The Environmental Impact Award honors a photographic project undertaken by an individual or a team that addresses an important and urgent regional or global environmental problem. Photographic projects should be concerned with one or more species or ecosystems and illustrate perils facing the species or ecosystems and/or sustainable management solutions to help preserve them. Each project will be judged on its success in raising public awareness for the need to protect our natural world and in stimulating further study of the issue(s) addressed. The project is to be grounded in photography but can include videography and other media in the total package.

Nominations for NANPA’s next Environmental Impact Award will be accepted September 1-30, 2021.

The individual or team directing the project may be invited to present a keynote at a Nature Photography Summit. This award is open only to NANPA members or, in the case of a team project, a team headed by a NANPA member.

  1. Must be a NANPA member (individual or team member)
  2. Environmental importance
  3. Impact upon public awareness and/or educational value
  4. High quality of work
Selection Criteria Definitions

Environmental Importance. The environmental issue is the primary, important focus of the nominee’s photographic project.

High Quality of Work. The nominee’s photographic imagery is of exceedingly high quality and demonstrates the nominee’s mastery of the artistic and craftsmanship aspects of nature photography.

Public Awareness and/or Educational Value. The nominee’s photographic project has a very strong component that creates and distributes high quality educational material so as to enhance public awareness, including material created to influence decision makers.

Past Recipients

2021: Tom Blagden (The Grand Canyon) and Krista Schlyer (Ay Mariposa/The Borderlands Project)
2019: Clay Bolt (Beautiful Bees: Protecting North America’s Native Bees)
2017: Michael Forsberg (Platte Basin Time Lapse) and Carlton Ward, Jr., Mallory Dimmit and Joe Gutherie (Florida Wildlife Corridor)
2015: Niall Benvie and Clay Bolt (Meet Your Neighbours)
2013: James Balog (Chasing Ice)

NANPA’s Environmental Impact Award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years to coincide with NANPA’s Nature Photography Summit.